The British Council is the United Kingdom’s international organisation for cultural relations and educational opportunities: the business of building trust and understanding between nations. The British Council’s office in the United Arab Emirates is one of over 100 worldwide. It was established 46 years ago and is one of our most important operations today.

We work in three key areas: arts, English and education, with a focus on young people. 

Our work in English supports the Emirati and UAE resident community through English language courses at our Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah centres. We have also set a standard of training teachers through our CELTA courses and our co-operation with government bodies. 

We work closely with schools and universities providing examinations to students both directly and through our partners.

Our work in education and training is at the heart of the UAE's ambitions to develop its young people to be competitive, and to engage internationally. We develop the skills of young people, through programmes such as Skills for Employability and Connecting Classrooms. We support international academic links between UAE and British Universities through programmes such as Internationalising Higher Education.

Our arts programme promotes UK participation in major cultural events, capacity building in the creative sectors and opportunities for UK engagement in the development of the UAE cultural sectors.

المجلس الثقافي البريطاني هو منظمة المملكة المتحدة الدولية للعلاقات الثقافية والفرص التعليمية. ونحن نسعى إلى إتاحة الفرص الدولية للأفراد في المملكة المتحدة والبلدان الأخرى وترسيخ الثقة فيما بينهم في أنحاء العالم. وقد تأسس مكتب المجلس الثقافي البريطاني في الإمارات العربية المتحدة قبل 46 عاماً، ولا يزال اليوم من أكبر المكاتب وأهمها في العالم.

ونعمل في المجلس الثقافي البريطاني في الإمارات في ثلاثة مجالات رئيسية: الفنون، واللغة الإنجليزية والتعليم مع تركيزنا على فئة الشباب. 

ويدعم عملنا في اللغة الإنجليزية المواطنين والمقيمين في المجتمع الإماراتي من خلال دورات اللغة الإنجليزية في مراكزنا التعليمية في أبو ظبي، ودبي، والشارقة. كما وضعنا معايير محددة لتدريب المعلمين عن طريق دورات شهادة تدريس اللغة الإنجليزية للكبار "CELTA"، وبالتعاون مع الجهات الحكومية. 

نحن نعمل عن كثب مع المدارس والجامعات لتوفير الامتحانات للطلاب بشكل مباشر وعبر شركائنا.

إن عملنا في التعليم يتصدر قائمة طموحاتنا لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة لتنمية شبابها، وتسليحهم بالمهارات التنافسية، وتمكينهم من التفاعل والانخراط على صعيد دولي وذلك عبر برامج مثل مهارات التوظيف وربط الصفوف الدراسية. كما ندعم الروابط الأكاديمية بين الإمارات العربية المتحدة والجامعات البريطانية عبر برامج مثل تدويل التعليم الدولي.

 وتروج برامجنا الفنية لمشاركة المملكة المتحدة في أهم الفعاليات المحلية، وبناء القدرات في القطاع الإبداعي، بالإضافة إلى إيجاد فرص لمشاركة المملكة المتحدة في دعم القطاع الثقافي في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.